Crazy Insane or Insane Crazy

Week 1:

I’ve begun a 60 day training program called “Insanity”. Cheeseball?   Why yes…I went to the gym one day and watched the infomercial for a good half hour – so…I watched a workout infomercial while I worked out, how creative and inspiring – then decided that I, too, needed some “Insanity” in my life. So here goes the experiment.

Day 1: Fitness Test. First thought: Can I do this? And away we go…

Kellie’s ENTIRE thought process during the Fit test video below.  First create an image in your mind of me huffing and puffing, dripping sweat and cursing then read my thoughts.

The warm up isn’t so bad. Okay, Okay….I Like the cardio. Uhm, This is military training. I’m so glad there aren’t weights. Do I need to do this? Really, does my body need this? What? We have to repeat the warm up again, but it was like bootcamp the first time. Switch kicks as fast as I can! Haha. I did more of the power squats then they did, I’m so much stronger. I can’t do it. I can’t. My arms can’t take anymore. Shaun T you efing suck! Just because I can’t do mountain climbers doesnt mean I’m weak. This is bullshit. Why is this all about looking good? I want to feel good. Bring it on Shaun T. I’m a beast! What? Suicides! I can’t. I can’t breathe anymore. It’s over. 30 minutes. 

I gave it a good 80 percent effort and continued to give about that much for the rest of the week. My body wasn’t into giving more than that.  Keep in mind that I am not replacing any activity in my exercise/training routine – Pilates, Yoga, dance classes and rehearsals are still part of my daily activity. I did it for 6 days, each day I wanted to kill Shaun T a little more as well as the sexy, sweaty and ripped Insanity animatrons. There is a different video for each day which makes it all the more bearable.  I guess you can say I might have enjoyed it. Now, Monday 3/12 was my day “off” from Insanity but it was my first 5 hour rehearsal day in NYC with Adele Myers and Dancers. We had a 4 day rehearsal residency in NYC, March 12-15, with Adele and I had all these plans of continuing the Insanity workout…whomp whomp…It was a bust.  There was just NO WAY I could add this workout to my rehearsals with Adele.  Each rehearsal pretty much consisted of 5 hrs a day of Insanity.  Ha…I just like using the word Insanity. Rehearsals = RUNNING, JUMPING, JUMPING, ROLLING, HIT A LINE, FALL, FALLING, SWING, DROP, SQUAT, REPEAT, OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER and over and over and over again.  I ended each day that week with an hour nap on Metro-North.  Lights out the moment the train started its journey from the ol’ GC to Union Station, New Haven.  I’ll approach Insanity WEEK TWO with enthusiasm and courage…BRING IT ON!

2 thoughts on “Crazy Insane or Insane Crazy

  1. great blog! fascinating subject matter. well written.

    To your Mom’s question, “Oh my dear daughter…why?” I’ll add my question,”How? How do you do it?”

Leave a comment